Your Mac storage is in constant motion through regular use. In time, it will add and accumulate files you can safely remove through optimization in just a few steps. Once purged, this space is once again available to do as you please.
There are various ways to purge storage on your Mac, both natively and through third-party solutions. Some options are easier than others, although none of these involves taking many steps.
To see the current state of your Mac storage, click on the Apple logo at the top left on the menu bar, then choose ‘About This Mac’. Tap the ‘Storage’ tab. You’ll find an overview of how your computer’s storage is being used. Make careful mention of the available space. If this is a small number, it’s almost certainly time to purge some space.
Rebooting your Mac can purge storage space, and it’s the first thing you should try when there’s an issue. You can do this by clicking on the Apple logo at the top left of the menu bar. From there, choose ‘Restart’, which will reboot your machine. Doing so will automatically remove many of the temporary files that have accumulated through regular use.
To optimize storage on your Mac more thoroughly, you can once again go into ‘About My Mac’ under the ‘Storage’ tab. From there, choose ‘Manage’. Choose each of the four options to optimize space, which will automatically delete files you no longer need.
First, choose the ‘Store in iCloud’ button under the aptly named ‘Store in iCloud’ section. Consider checking the boxes for ‘Desktop and Documents’ and ‘Photos’. When checked, these options will automatically store those folders and files on iCloud instead of locally, thereby saving space. Recent files and optimized photos will remain on your Mac for easy (and offline) retrieval, as necessary.
Next, select the button under ‘Optimize Storage’. When activated, your Mac will automatically remove Apple TV movies, and TV shows that you’ve already watched. When selected, only your most recent email attachments will get stored locally.
When selected, ‘Empty Trash Automatically’ will delete Trash files after 30 days.
Under ‘Reduce Clutter’, you can ‘Review Files’ and delete ones that are no longer necessary. If you don’t know what the file is or think you might need to eventually, don’t delete it.
Tip: Some apps take up a lot of space. Removing these from your computer will save a lot of space.